Announcing the Winners of the 2016 Iron Pen Contest

Hello Iron Pen Contestants!

So without any further ado, here are the winners of the 2016 Iron Pen contest by category:


1st Place: “The Shoes” – Jeffrey Bert

2nd Place: “Untitled” – P. Charles Horan

3rd Place: “Mountain Falls” – Xixuan Collins

Honorable Mention: “Culpepper” – Daniel Moore


1st Place: “Crescent Phase” – Megan Vollstedt

2nd Place: “Sorry Wasn’t Big Enough” – Michelle Ladwig

3rd Place: “Back From The Brink” – Mark Lucas

Honorable Mentions: “Mercy” – Michelle Opsahl

“The Love of a Parent” – Jennifer Knox


1st place: “The Perils of Penelope” – Laura Winton

2nd place: “Hold on a Minute” – Margaret Sherwin

3rd place: “The Bus” – Roger Pavey, Sr.

Honorable Mention: “Bird Feeding” – Steve Robinson


Congrats to all of our winners! The Award Ceremony and Reading is this Saturday February 27th, 1pm, here at the MWC. The winners, 2nd, 3rd Places and Honorable mentions will be our featured readers, but anyone who participated is welcome to come and read their entry to this year’s contest. Please let us know if you plan to attend, and if you plan to read, so we have an idea of the schedule. Thanks!

We will have some light refreshments and will hand out the medals and certificates for our winners this Saturday, and we’ll also have our drawing for the full registration to the David R. Collins Writing Conference (please note that you do not need to be present to win the conference registration—anyone with a paid Iron Pen Entry will be included in the raffle). You are of course welcome to bring family & friends to help us celebrate all of your creative efforts.

We hope you had fun with this year’s prompt—everyone certainly did a great job of going from zero to finished piece in a mere 24 hours! Thank you all so much again! Please let me know if you have any other questions about the contest or the Award Ceremony this Saturday. Thanks again and have a good day…

All best,