The Midwest Writing Center (MWC) is currently seeking nominations for the David R. Collins Literary Achievement Award. The award will be presented on October 25, 2018 at MWC’s Celebration of the Literary Arts at CityView Celebrations in Moline, IL (701 12th St.).

The award is named after renowned children’s author, Illinois Master Teacher, and co-founder of MWC David R. Collins (1940-2001). Nominated writers should meet the following criteria:

  • Published author (books, magazines/journals, etc.)
  • Live in the six-county Quad City region (Henry, Mercer, and Rock Island in IL; Clinton, Muscatine, and Scott in IA)

Nominations should also respond to the following questions about the nominee’s activities:

  • How is this author helpful to other writers and readers?
  • How does this author promote reading and writing in our community?

The winner will be selected by an independent panel not associated with the MWC Board of Directors.

Nominations are due by October 13, 2018. Please send nominations to MWC via email at or via USPS to Midwest Writing Center, c/o RIPL, 401 19th St., Rock Island, IL 61201. Please contact Ryan Collins if you have any questions about the Literary Achievement Award of the Celebration of the Literary Arts.

Registrations for the Celebration of the Literary Arts can be made over the phone by calling MWC at (309) 732-7330 or by registering online using PayPal via the MWC website:

The Midwest Writing Center’s Celebration of the Literary Arts is made possible thanks to the generous support of John Moran, Morgan Stanley Davenport; Pam Davies; John & Nancy Hayes; J. Lynn Behrends; and Mary Lewis.